Miguel Tejada: A lesson in why I can’t always believe my eyes

Those who believe strongly in advanced baseball statistics will often tell you can’t trust your eyes. I tend to ignore them when they say that.  I know what I see. Except, apparently, when I don’t.

I was pretty stoked when the Orioles dealt Miguel Tejada to the Padres at the non-waiver trade deadline last month — mostly because it’s completely annoying when there’s a guy on the worst team in the league that your pitching staff can’t get out. Right?

Well, not so much.

For reasons I don’t understand, I had convinced myself over the first four months of the season that Tejada, despite his advancing age, was continuing to light up Yankees pitching.

I still wince every time I hear Berroa's name.

I finally got around to looking up Tejada’s splits before he left the American League, and was shocked at what I saw.

While he hit a respectable .292 with five doubles against Yankee pitching in 48 at-bats, Tejada didn’t hit a single home run against the Yankees this year and has driven in just one run.

His OPS+ was 100 on the nose. Or, in other words, exactly average.

Check out his career numbers against the Yanks, which are pretty comparable, right here.

So, it turns out that Miguel Tejada hasn’t exactly been the second-coming of Geronimo “Yankee killer” Berroa, who absolutely mauled the Yankees in the ’90s.

Berroa’s prowess against pinstriped pitching was fairly epic: .328/.430/.598 with 14 homers and 44 RBIs in 204 at-bats.

Also worth noting: The Yankees never once had the good sense to intentionally walk him.

This entry was posted in Orioles, Stats and junk, Yankees and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miguel Tejada: A lesson in why I can’t always believe my eyes

  1. Cari says:

    Geronimo Berroa, I’d forgotten about him!
    Sox need to take until Monday to work out trade for Manny, I really don’t feel like facing him this weekend. Too many damn question marks

Leave a Reply

